Alumni Banquet

An important tradition at The University of Georgia Chapter of Blue Key is the annual Tucker Dorsey Blue Key Alumni Banquet. The banquet was designed to bring together business and government leaders from across the state and nation to participate in a dinner program hosted by Blue Key members. The banquet also has served as an occasion to present the Blue Key Service Award from the student chapter to distinguished individuals who had made significant contributions to the University of Georgia, the state and the nation. More than 150 such awards have been presented since the chapter was founded.

In addition, the Young Alumnus Award is presented annually to an individual who was a Blue Key member while a student at UGA and whose early professional and personal contributions indicate a special level of service to the state and nation. The Tucker Dorsey Memorial Scholarship (in honor of J. Tucker Dorsey II, an accomplished student leader at the University who died in an automobile accident in 1965) is presented to two student members whose leadership, dedication, and ideals reflect those of Tucker Dorsey, founder of the Blue Key Alumni Banquet. The AT&T Student Leadership Award is presented to two student members who have demonstrated outstanding leadership ability and potential. This scholarship is made possible by generous support from AT&T, Inc., in honor of the late Jasper Dorsey who served for years as a top executive with Southern Bell Telephone Company and was instrumental in establishing the Blue Key tradition at UGA. Additionally, the Richard B. Russell Leadership Award (in honor of the late Senator Richard B. Russell, a 1918 graduate of the UGA School of Law) is presented to two members who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and potential.